Jobs and Internships

WASH Jobs Resource Guide

Are you looking for a job in the WASH sector? Below is a list of job search engines, resources, and organizations. (Please note this is not a comprehensive list.)

Job Search Engines
Devex www.devex.com/en/jobs
Idealist www.idealist.org
Devnet www.devnetjobs.org
International Water Association www.my-water-career.com
African Development Jobs www.africandevjobs.com
Global Jobs www.globaljobs.org
WASH Vacancies www.washvacancies.wordpress.com
Jobs 4 Development www.jobs4development.com
Bridgespan www.bridgespan.org
LinkedIn www.linkedin.com
Development Banks
The World Bank www.worldbank.org
The International Monetary Fund www.imf.org
Inter-American Development Bank www.iadb.org
Asian Development Bank www.adb.org
African Development Bank www.afdb.org
United Nations
UN Jobs www.unjobs.org
United Nations Development Program www.jobs.undp.org
UNICEF www.unicef.org
United Nations Environment Program www.unep.org
World Health Organization www.who.int
Food and Agriculture Organization www.fao.org
UN Water www.unwater.org
US Government
USA Jobs www.usajobs.gov
US Agency for International Development www.usaid.gov
U.S. Department of State www.state.gov
CDC – Safe Water www.cdc.gov/safewater/
Peace Corps www.peacecorps.gov
National Institute of Health www.nih.gov
 
International NGOs
The Access Initiative www.joblist.wri.org
CARE www.care.org
FHI 360 www.fhi360.org
Save the Children www.savethechildren.org
Oxfam www.oxfam.org
WaterAid www.wateraid.org
International Water Management Institute www.iwmi.cgiar.org
IRC www.ircwash.org
PATH www.path.org
Plan International www.plan-international.org
End Water Poverty www.endwaterpoverty.org
Action Against Hunger www.actionagainsthunger.org
International Medical Corps www.internationalmedicalcorps.org
World Vision www.worldvision.org
US NGOs
Water.org www.water.org
International Relief and Development www.ird.org
Population Services International www.psi.org
Mercy Corps www.mercycorps.org
Relief International www.ri.org
Water For People www.waterforpeople.org
Winrock, International www.winrock.org
Charity Water www.charitywater.org
Global Poverty Project www.globalpovertyproject.com
H2O for Life www.h2oforlifeschools.org
FACE Africa www.faceafrica.org
Faith-Based Organizations
Lutheran World Relief www.lwr.org
MedAir www.relief.medair.org
Catholic Relief Services www.crs.org
Living Water International www.water.cc
 
Consulting
Camp, Dresser, & Mckee (CDM Smith Inc) www.cdmsmith.com
Chemonics www.chemonics.com
ARCADIS www.arcadis-us.com/job_openings
DAI www.dai.com/working-dai/job-opportunities
Tetra Tech www.tetratech.com/careers
RTI www.rti.org
CH2M Hill www.ch2m.com
 
Fellowships
Global Health Corps www.ghcorps.org
International Development Fellows Program (IDFP) www.crs.org
Fulbright Fellowship www.fulbrightonline.org
Boren Fellowship www.borenawards.org
World Vision Fellowship www.wvi.org
Volunteers in Asia Fellowship www.viaprograms.org
Princeton in Africa Fellowship www.princetoninafrica.org
Princeton in Latin America Fellowship www.piaweb.princeton.edu
Think Tanks
IRC www.ircwash.org
CSIS www.csis.org
The Chicago Council www.thechicagocouncil.org
The Brookings Institutions www.brookings.edu
 
Research Institutions
UNC Water Institute www.waterinstitute.unc.edu
Emory University Center for Global Safe Water www..sph.emory.edu/cgsw
Desert Research Institute www.dri.edu
Gender-Focused
The Association for Women’s Rights in Development www.awid.org
The UK National Committee for UN Women www.unwomenuk.org
The Global Women’s Institute www.globalwomensinstitute.gwu.edu
Women and Water in Central And South Asia www.womenandwatergw.org
Foundations
Bill Gates and Melinda Gates Foundation www.gatesfoundation.org
Conrad N. Hilton Foundation www.hiltonfoundation.org
Coca-Cola Foundation www.coca-colacompany.com
PepsiCo www.pepsico.com
Howard G. Buffet Foundation www.thehowardgbuffettfoundation.org
Skoll Foundation www.skollfoundation.org
Clinton Foundation www.clintonfoundation.org

 

Internships (part-time, stipend)

WASH Advocates is a nonprofit, nonpartisan initiative in Washington, DC dedicated to helping solve the global safe drinking water, sanitation, and hygiene (WASH) challenge. WASH Advocates is seeking part-time interns (preferably senior or graduate students working for college credit) to assist with a wide range of projects that support our advocacy, communications, partnership development, and research efforts.

Responsibilities include:

  • Research corporations, private foundations, U.S. government, universities, civic, and faith-based organizations to determine their interest in the global WASH issue. Research U.S. non-governmental organizations and their water and sanitation programming.
  • Assist the Communications Director in collecting news articles and writing story ideas for journalists.
  • Help write, edit, and format materials for Congressional meetings.
  • Represent WASH Advocates at relevant meetings, meet DC leaders, and brainstorm collaborations.

Interests:

  • U.S. and global advocacy for policy change; OR
  • Working with large corporations to advise on philanthropy initiatives; OR
  • Global health and its effects on other sectors, such as education, women’s empowerment, urbanization, environment, etc.

Our internships run on the school semester. We expect a minimum of twenty hours per week for four months totaling 320 hours. We provide a $1,000 stipend at the end of the internship. You must be eligible to work or intern in the U.S. The WASH Advocates office is located at 1506 21st Street NW near Dupont Circle.

Please send résumé and cover letter detailing your interests to info@WASHadvocates.org.

WASH Advocates | 1506 21st Street NW, Suite 200 Washington DC 20036 | 202-293-4002 | info@WASHadvocates.org